Skip to main content

If you love the movies


"If ever there was a Poet Laureate of the Movies, Betty Jo Tucker should receive that coveted award." --- Grace Blair, Award-winning author of Einstein's Compass: A YA Time Traveler Adventure
 
Cinema Stanzas Two: Poet Laureate of the Movies is a sequel to the award-winning Cinema Stanzas: Rhyming About Movies. This time, film critic Betty Jo Tucker explains how her wish to become the poet laureate of the movies originated, and the book emerges as a kind of audition. This second offering in the series presents over 70 movie reviews/film poems Tucker has written since the first book was published as well as several of her other poems that relate to cinema. She covers films of various genres -- comedy, drama, fantasy, horror/action/sci-fi, musicals, mystery/thriller, and romance. Along with major motion pictures and Oscar® winners like The Shape of Water and Roma, many small independent films -- and even one short movie -- receive Tucker's rhyming treatment. The book is written to serve as a resource for fans of both movies and poetry. 
 
 
 

PO Box 1223
Conifer Colorado 80433-1223
USA

Unsubscribe | Change Subscriber Options

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Interview With Author Aline Soules

May 23, 2012



1) Please tell us about you and your book. What is the genre? What's the book about? (If you have any websites or other links, please post them).


My book is a collection of prose poems and flash fiction pieces that both stand alone and work together to create a universal woman. Each piece begins with "A woman" and a verb and continues from there. My goal was to emphasize the complexity of a woman and communicate that to my readers. The pieces express a range of emotions, stretch from the elements of daily life to the fantastical, and connect a woman to the world. I begin with a piece that breaks everything apart, after which, each piece examines one aspect of the prism that I split. One of the best compliments I received about my book was from a male writer, Al Garrotto, who provided a blurb for my book, but later wrote an unsolicited review on his blog. He wrote: "Every man who cares about a woman at any level of relationship will come away enr…

On Writing Chase Scenes

By Carolyn Howard-Johnson

Author of The Frugal Editor, the winning-est in her award-winning HowToDoItFrugally Series of books for writers

This article is excerpted from some editing I did for a writer of experimental fiction when I was on a Greater Los Angeles Writers Society panel writer of any genre can apply these suggestions to the chase, getaway, or high action scene in your script or manuscript before you send it to an agent or publisher or, better still, while you are writing the first draft. 

Sometimes even the most fascinating, interesting and irresistible detail can slow down the forward movement of your story. So as much as writers are told that detail is important, purge as much as you can from your action scenes and put it somewhere else or dribble it into narrative in other places in your manuscript. In the process, ask yourself if your reader really needs to know the color of the protagonist’s eyes. As important as detail is, some is better left to the imagination of the r…

She found the courage

Read more. "The most important investment we can make is in our children; therefore, I'm thrilled my messages are presented to children in The Surprise Circus." –Les Brown, motivational speaker.from the Foreword When the circus doesn't come to her town, six-year-old Aria is disappointed. She calls the ringmaster of the circus and asks him to send the circus, but he doesn't. Instead, the craziest things start to happen!

Every week, the ringmaster sends Aria a package—each containing an amazing circus character. But Aria has to put the circus characters in the backyard because each one does something very silly that upsets her mommy and daddy: the magician hides her baby sister, the strongman lifts all the furniture, and the juggler throws everything, even her baby sister, in the air, and the fire eater burns the curtains.

The circus people ask Aria to become their ringmaster, but she isn't sure she is brave enough to speak in front of lots of people. Aria star…